the confession, the pledge and meh . . .

In the last few weeks i’ve done something i told myself, towards the end of last year and for the duration of the summer, I wouldn’t do when in my final year . . . make bad choices that lead to painfully bland work that is mind-numbingly monotonous to produce.

The approach plates look relatively cool, but i started producing them for the Star Guitar chronogram, to compile ‘The Flight Log of Michel Gondry’ for my portfolio. That should have been where i left it. At least for now. But i find myself, presently, refusing to do anything other than these approach plates, i’m allowing them to take over all ideas for my work and that is stifling my work. I’m changing to suit it rather than developing something to suit me. I’m abandoning thesis and design ideas that i had over the summer because i’m effectively hamstringing myself with this style. I want my work this year to be cohesive. 1 theme, 1 idea, with all work borne out from there.

Last year i made certain choices at various stages of the first term, unwittingly, which effectively fucked me for the rest of the year. Abandoning Blender for SketchUP. Huge mistake. Formulating a political design brief. Stifled my will to design something engaging/fun/interesting. Refusing to change/develop my style for fear of the additional work it would create. Lazy.

This year is about doing something i enjoy and about developing skills that i want to develop, 3D and After Effects. The opportunity to do so is what led me to Unit 15. In the last few weeks i lost sight of this, i was weak as i have been almost throughout my entire architectural education. The things that were interesting to me over the summer have been replaced because i let myself ‘settle’. ‘that’ll do’. ‘scrape by’

So from now on, I’m going to do better, be stronger, enjoy my work and see where it takes me.

PS Apologies for the Bridget Jones style diary entry. Blog therapy and all that.

Leave a Reply

architectural [re]presentation

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

Prince.E.Yemoh

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

Chris Kelly

Unit 15_Architecture Diploma_University of Greenwich

UNIT 15 > Future Urban Networks

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

MADONNA FLORIDES

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

vipinunit15

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

[UNIT 15] TIME MACHINES

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

Natasha Clarke - Unit 15

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

aDaM antony Leatherbarrow | unit XV

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

c a r o l y n j a n e g a r d e n

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

T O M I O W O L A B I

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

A C o n s c i o u s E x p e r i e n c e . . p u r e p r e s e n c e

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

Jong / Unit 15

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

katelynham unit15

University of Greenwich Unit 15...the ups and downs...

Neil - Unit 15

'ours is the species that inherently seeks to extend its physical and mental reach beyond current limitations' - Ray Kurzweil

